skip navigation

Rosters for 2017 Tier I Leagues Announced

By Minnesota Hockey, 08/18/17, 10:00AM CDT


Team Logos and Schedules Also Unveiled Ahead of Next Week’s Opening Weekend of 14 & 15 Competition

St. Paul, MN – August 17, 2017 – The 2017 CCM Minnesota Hockey High Performance Tier 1 Leagues presented by Mayo Clinic Sports Medicine will begin their second season on August 25. League rosters, logos and schedules have now been unveiled with several enhancements from last year’s inaugural season. Along with CCM, Mayo Clinic Sports Medicine will be the presenting partner of this year’s League and will be providing participants nutritional and off-ice training tips throughout the season.

The Youth 14 League has expanded to eight teams with the addition of the Districts 11 & 12 Voyageurs. The Youth 15 League will remain at seven teams, while the Girls 14 level will once again showcase six teams. The CCM High Performance Girls 15 Fall League will once again be made up of four teams, which will not be classified as Tier 1 teams, but will play a 10 game schedule. Team North Dakota and Team Wisconsin will also compete during various weekends, as will the New Jersey Hitmen.

This Fall will be the third season of Tier 1 hockey in Minnesota, and the second featuring the 14 and 15 levels. Teams in the 19U Girls, 18U Youth and 16U Girls age groups will continue to come from the Upper Midwest High School Elite Leagues and the CCM Minnesota Hockey High Performance 16 League (previously known as the Prep Development League). The Tier 1 Leagues are designed to provide the top players in Minnesota with the opportunity to train with and compete against each other.

“Last year’s Fall season of Minnesota Hockey’s Tier 1 Leagues could not have gone better,” said CCM Minnesota Hockey High Performance director, Mike MacMillan. “These Leagues provide an outstanding development component and high level competition featuring the best players throughout the state. We are excited to see the highly talented players on all of the rosters compete this year for a chance at the Taconite Trophy, as well as a trip to the USA Hockey National Tournaments in April.”

The Tier 1 14 and 15 Leagues opened earlier in August with District tryouts, on-ice skill development practices and off-ice training sessions. Teams were created based on Minnesota Hockey District boundaries and have been given team names based on Minnesota symbols. League games will be held at locations throughout the state, including at several of Minnesota’s Division 1 arenas including AMSOIL Arena in Duluth, the Herb Brooks National Hockey Center in St. Cloud and Mariucci and Ridder Arena in Minneapolis. Fogerty Arena in Blaine and New Hope Ice Arena will also be host sites for regular season weekends.

Rosters and Schedules for each age classifications can be found here:

Following the 14/15 regular season, which concludes the weekend of September 22 – 24, each team will participate in the League playoffs, with the top teams getting the opportunity to compete for a chance to represent Minnesota at the 2017 USA Hockey National Championships. League playoffs will begin Friday, September 29 and the Minnesota District playoffs will take place October 7 – 8.

The District 6 Lakers represented Minnesota at the 2016 14U Girls USA Hockey National Tournament, while the District 10 Green Giants competed at the 15U Youth National Tournament. 

Mayo Clinic Sports Medicine Center is a global leader in sports and musculoskeletal injury prevention and rehabilitation, concussion research, diagnostic and interventional ultrasound, sports performance optimization, and surgical and nonsurgical management of sports-related injuries.

Most Popular