skip navigation

2017 USA Hockey Sled Classic Starts Thursday

By Minnesota Hockey, 11/14/17, 11:00AM CST


Minnesota Wild to Host Sled Classic, Will Send Two Teams to Participate

The eighth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL, will be held at Plymouth Ice Center in Plymouth, MN on Thursday, Nov. 16th through Sunday, Nov. 19.

A record 28 NHL-associated sled hockey teams across five divisions will compete in the event. Each team will represent their associated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.

As hosts, the Minnesota Wild, as well as the Buffalo Sabres, Chicago Blackhawks, Columbus Blue Jackets, Nashville Predators and Edmonton Oilers, will have two NHL associated teams in the tournament, while the Colorado Avalanche will have three teams participating. In total, the 28-team field will represent a record setting 20 NHL clubs.

The teams will participate in a series of round robin games, culminating in championship games for all five divisions on Sunday. Last year, the Nashville Predators held the tournament in Antioch, Tenn., where the Colorado Avalanche captured the Tier I Division, the Pittsburgh Penguins claimed the Tier II crown, the Nashville Predators won the Tier III Division, the Colorado Avalanche captured the Tier IV division and the Carolina Hurricanes took the Tier V title.

This will be the fourth consecutive year the Minnesota Wild has participated in the USA Hockey Sled Classic. The team claimed the Tier III division title during its first year at the event in 2014, a feat they will look to repeat on home ice this weekend. This will be the first time the Minnesota Wild enters two teams into the tournament. A list of players representing Minnesota at the event can be found below.

For tournament details and a complete schedule, click here. All games will be streamed live at

The event is part of the seventh annual Come Play Hockey Month and the Hockey is for Everyone program, two joint efforts of USA Hockey and the NHL. Use the hashtag #SledClassic to join the tournament conversation on social media.

Minnesota Wild - Tier III

Name Pos. Hometown
Scott Eidsvoog F Maple Grove
Nicholas Elliot F Rochester
Aaron Holm F Shakopee
Hanna Hughes D Rochester
Joseph Lang D Loretto
Daniel Lilya F Moose Lake
Justin McClanahan F Rochester
Ezra McPhail D St. Louis Park
Eric Rud F Lakeville
Jon Rydberg F Woodbury
Judd Yaeger G Forest Lake

Minnesota Wild - Tier V

Name Pos. Hometown
Wyatt Willand F Northwoods, IA
Blake Eaton F Proctor
Cody Schmidt F Rochester
Sam Campion F Crystal
Cory Marklevits D Burnsville
Nick Schmitz F Andover
Shawn Corbin F Coon Rapids
Blake Henke F Stillwater
Michael Swanson G Marion, IA
David Richardson D Plymouth

Most Popular