skip navigation

13th Annual Goalie Camp Set for August 3-6

By Minnesota Hockey, 07/21/17, 9:30AM CDT


Fifty of the state’s top high school goalies will be at St. Cloud State University, Aug. 3-6, for Minnesota Hockey’s 13th annual CCM High Performance Dave Peterson Goalie Camp.

The four-day goalie development program is designed to improve the individual skills, techniques, confidence and consistency of boys and girls in the 15-to 18-year-old age group.

“It’s extremely important we provide high-level skill development opportunities for boys and girls in this age group,” explained Steve Carroll, Minnesota Hockey’s goalie development coordinator. “These are highly motivated athletes who are determined to improve their skills and overall game so they can help their high school teams achieve success. Many of the participants also have set their sights on playing college hockey and beyond.”

The camp provides the goalies with an opportunity to learn the latest techniques and strategies from a combination of Minnesota’s most well-respected and talented college and high school goalie coaches. This year’s coaches will include USA Hockey ADM Goaltending Manager Phil Osaer, USNTDP regional scout and goalie mentor Brennan Poderzay.

In addition, participants also have the chance to interact and learn from current collegiate goalies who serve as counselors. This year’s counselors will be David Zevnik (St. Cloud State University), Justin Quale (Hamline University), Lauren Bench (Bemidji State University) and Ashley Corcoran (St. Mary’s University).

The goalies will receive 12 hours of on-ice training and about 12 hours of off-ice instruction on topics such as sports performance training, nutrition, student coaching program, hockey after high school, vision training and goalie yoga.

Goalies were invited to participate in the camp based on their play in the spring's USA Hockey/Minnesota Hockey CCM High Performance festivals. A list of girls and boys participants is available below. 

2017 Girls Participants

First Name Last Name School Attending
Abby Bollig Farmington
Morgan Brothers Edina
Madison Demarais Sauk Rapids
Alexa Dobchuk Eden Prairie
Maureen Dwyer North Shore
Aidan Edge Minnetonka
Paige Erickson Henry Sibley
Stephanie Garvis Wayzata
Allyn Goehner Forest Lake
Hailey Hartlage Rogers
Amelia Julian Eastview
Megan Jung Elk River
Nettie Kimble Bemidji
Anna Larose St. Michael-Albertville
Ashley Larson Eagan
Maddison Lehto Roseville
Mara McClain Bloomington Jefferson
Rachel Miller St. Francis
Amanda Pelkey Andover
Olivia Rinzel Chanhassen
Baleigh Shuck Champlin Park
Megan Smith Edina
Chloe Stockinger Sauk Rapids
Emily Trast Grand Rapids
Madeline Wilsey Roseville

2017 Boys Participants

First Name Last Name School Attending
Travis Allen Centennial
Jacob Backstrom Hermantown
Garret Bonello Wayzata
Ben Bullis Eden Prairie
Dominik Caspers Marshall
Oscar Copiskey Bemidji
Soren Falloon St. Cloud
Ryan Flanders Austin
Danny Fraga Wayzata
Corey Hendrickson Minneapolis
Atticus Kelly St. Thomas Academy
Drew Klemann Hill-Murray
Jaden Kragh Mankato East
William Kunka Moorhead
Cole Manahan Hermantown
Derek Manzella Eagan
Nathan Mueller Buffalo
Axel Rosenlund Eden Prairie
Tyler Steffens White Bear Lake
Connor Sullivan North Shore
Will Tollefson Rosemount
Jake Turek North Branch
Zachary Tyman Cloquet
Ben Urbanciz Chaska
Trevor Wong Wayzata


The goalie camp is named in honor of Dave Peterson, a former Minneapolis Southwest High School hockey coach, who was a passionate leader in goalie development for USA Hockey. Peterson also served as the head coach of the U.S. Men’s Olympic hockey teams in 1988 and 1992.

Most Popular