skip navigation

Top HS Seniors Revel in Awards, Community Pride

By Minnesota Hockey, 03/09/15, 4:30PM CDT


The list of previous winners is, in a word, impressive. Some are playing in the National Hockey League, some are on their way, but wherever they may be, Jake Jaremko is now one of them.

Last weekend the Elk River forward was named 2015’s Mr. Hockey. After a 68-point regular season, on 22 goals and 46 assists, with an additional 11 points in three playoff games, Jaremko earned one of the State of Hockey’s highest honors.

“It means the world,” Jaremko said. “All the hard work finally pays off. And to be associated with the names who have won it previously, it’s a huge honor.”

One name in particular stands out to the Elk River native: Paul Martin. The current Pittsburgh Penguin was named Mr. Hockey in 2000, the first and only other member of the Elks to receive the title. Jaremko noted that, once again, it’s a huge honor to be linked with Martin in such a memorable way, given how much Martin gives back to their shared hometown.

Naturally, the win has motivated Jaremko to reach the same level as the likes of Martin and the other previous winners who have made it to the NHL.

“It motivates me to keep working harder and harder and not be complacent,” Jaremko said. “To look at the list of winners and see where they are, it makes me want to keep working.”

Only days after being named Mr. Hockey, Jaremko is moving to Chicago to join the Steele in the United States Hockey League. But the Minnesotan will return to the State of Hockey for college as a member of the Minnesota State Mavericks.

Jaremko wasn’t the only one to receive top honors last weekend as Burnsville’s Dyllan Lubbesmeyer was named the 2015 Frank Brimsek Award winner as the top senior goalie in the state. The netminder put together an 11-10-2 regular season with a 2.16 goals-against average and a .911 save percentage.

“It means a lot, not just for me, but for Burnsville,” Lubbesmeyer said. “I’m proud to bring it back to my hometown.”

Lubbesmeyer noted that bringing home the award is an honor in multiple ways, not only to be recognized for his hard work, but also bring the first award of its kind to Burnsville which has never had a Mr. Hockey nor a Frank Brimsek recipient.

Furthermore, Lubbesmeyer feels the award is a great way to honor some of his good friends who were in a car accident last fall. The incident left his fellow senior Cole Borchardt in a wheelchair – who is currently rehabilitating at the Courage Kenny Institute – and led to the death of Ty Alyea. Matt Berger and Tylan Procko were also in the accident.

Honoring Burnsville was the main takeaway for the goaltender, whose roots run deep in the community. His father and older brother of 12 years both went to Burnsville High School and he’s proud to follow in their footsteps in attending the same school, ultimately bringing the award back to his hometown.

Naturally, the honor also served as a good way to cap his high school career, one that spanned the full four years of school, which is uncommon at Burnsville, according to Lubbesmeyer.

The goaltender has already moved on from high school, now living in Cloquet and playing with the Minnesota Wilderness in the North American Hockey League as of last Wednesday. He plans to play for them next season and attempt to earn a college scholarship, noting his dream school would be Notre Dame, but he’s excited to see what offers may come his way. 

Former Mr. Hockey Recipients (2000-Present)

Year Winner School Where are they now?
2014 Avery Peterson Grand Rapids Freshman at the University of Nebraska-Omaha
2013 Grant Besse Benilde-St. Margaret's Sophomore at the University of Wisconsin
2012 Justin Kloos Lakeville South Sophomore at the University of Minnesota
2011 Kyle Rau Eden Prairie Senior at the University of Minnesota
2010 Nick Bjugstad Blaine Florida Panthers
2009 Nick Leddy Eden Prairie New York Islanders
2008 Aaron Ness Roseau AHL Bridgeport Sound, Islanders affiliate
2007 Ryan McDonagh Cretin-Derham Hall New York Rangers
2006 David Fischer Apple Valley Krefeld, German Pro League
2005 Brian Lee Moorhead Retired after 209 NHL games due to ACL injury
2004 Tom Gorowsky Centennial Played at Wisconsin for four years, now a financial analyst
2003 Nate Dey North St. Paul Played at St. Cloud State University for four years
2002 Gino Guyer Greenway Skating Instructor at Pro Edge Power
2001 Marty Sertich Roseville Hamburg, German Pro League
2000 Paul Martin Elk River Pittsburgh Penguin

Former Frank Brinsek Award Winners (Past 10 Years)

Year Name School Where are they now?
2014 Hunter Shepard Grand Rapids Bismarck, NAHL
2013 David Zevnick St. Thomas Academy Wichita Falls, NAHL
2012 Michael Bitzer Moorhead Freshman at Bemidji State University
2011 Alex Lyon Lake of the Woods Freshman at Yale University
2010 Zane Gothberg Thief River Falls Junior at the University of North Dakota, changed last name to McIntyre
2009 Casey O'Connor Bloomington Jefferson Played two seasons at Augsburg College
2008 Joe Phillippi Hill-Murray Junior at St. Cloud State University
2007 Reid Ellingson Cloquet No longer competing.
2006 Austin Lee Bloomington Jefferson No longer competing.
2005 Alec Richards Breck No longer competing.

Most Popular

New Tournament App!