skip navigation

Sweezo Presented the Prestigious Don Clark Award

By Minnesota Hockey, 04/15/14, 11:00AM CDT


The prestigious Don Clark Award is presented by Minnesota Hockey to an individual who over a period of many years has been dedicated to the grassroots growth and development of youth hockey in Minnesota.


The community based model of hockey in Minnesota is in many ways the envy of hockey throughout the nation and even across the world. For that model to be successful, our communities rely on people who are willing to donate their time to enable kids to play hockey.

Among the group of coveted volunteers that selflessly give their heart and soul to make the game a better experience for hundreds and thousands of kids, many of whom they never meet, Tim Sweezo stands out as one of the best.

From the late 1970’s, when he used an old tractor instead of zamboni’s for plowing outdoor rinks to today’s world of play-by-play social media updates, Sweezo has been a key contributor at the association, district and state levels for almost 35 years. He has served as a coach at nearly every age group in Orono, a board member, the District 5 Director and has spent the past 20 years as Minnesota Hockey’s VP and Co-Chair of Tournaments.

Throughout all of this time, Sweezo’s focus has remained on the things that matter in youth hockey.

“One of the most rewarding things as a volunteer is when you see the kids and parents are laughing and happy and having a good time,” says Sweezo. 

Sweezo continues to play a vital role in making the Minnesota Hockey Region and State Tournaments one of the best experiences a kid can have, and we couldn’t be more grateful to have him as part of our team.

Thank you, Tim, for all you have done and continue to do for youth hockey in Minnesota!


Past Recipients

2000 – Everett (Buck) Riley, International Falls

2001 – Ken Austin, Owatonna

2002 – Robert (Bob) Utect, Bloomington

2003 – Elmer Walls, Baxter

2004 – Ted Brill, Grand Rapids

2005 – Wally Odell, Elk River

2006 – Dan Smeins, Luverne

2007 – Glenn Young, Litchfield

2008 – Louie Schmitz, Farmington

2009 – Gerry Brown, St. Louis Park

2010 – Moose Younghans, St. Paul

2011 – Dave Hendrickson, Virginia

2012 – Jim Bullard, Blaine

2013 – Lynn Olson, Minneapolis

Most Popular

MinnHockey Minnesota Hockey MinnHockey