skip navigation

2023 Boys NIT: Day 1 Recap

By Kassondra Burtis, 04/21/23, 12:00AM CDT


Minnesota HP-18 5, Wisconsin SRS 2

Scoreless after one period, Minnesota 18s scored four consecutive goals within 12 minutes of the second period to take a commanding lead. Wisconsin scored once to cut the deficit to three before each team added another goal in the third period.

Minnesota goals were scored by Jack Christ (Chanhassen), Gavin Reed (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Wyatt Farrell (La Crescent), Rhys Wallin (Wayzata), and Caden Lee (Chanhassen).

Monte Goold (Hayward) and Reece Cordray (Verona) recorded Wisconsin’s goals.

Michigan Seniors 3, Colorado 0

Neither Michigan Seniors nor Team Colorado could figure out the opposing team's goalie for the first 25 minutes of the game as nearly half the game went by scoreless. Michigan's Braden Pietila (Hartland) was the first to find the back of the net, just over seven minutes into the second period. Michigan tacked on two more goals in the third, scored by Jack Roberts (Chelsea) and Camden Markham (Houghton), as Ryan Price (Livonia Churchill) earned a 14-save shutout in the 3-0 victory.

Minnesota SRS 5, Wisconsin HP-18 3

Minnesota Seniors got the scoring started in the first period on a Parker Osborn (Holy Family) goal with less than four minutes to go. Each team scored twice in the second period and Minnesota held onto a one-goal lead after two. With under two minutes left in the third period, Wisconsin tied the game on a goal by Sam Kappell (Notre Dame Academy). But the tie only lasted 25 seconds as George Peterson (Hermantown) put Minnesota up by one before an empty net insurance goal sealed Minnesota’s win.

Osborn led Minnesota with a goal and two assists and Carter Krenke (Blake) tallied one goal and one assist.

Michigan HP-18 1, North Dakota 0

Michigan’s Levi Pennala (Brighton) and North Dakota’s Nolan Astrup (Fargo North) were determined to shut down the opposing team's offense, and that’s exactly what they did through three periods. Each goalie stopped all shots they faced in regulation—19 for Pennala and 14 for Astrup—to push the game to a shootout.

North Dakota failed to convert on either of their two shootout attempts while Michigan’s Jackson Froysland (Byron Center) and Michael Maillette (Houghton) each scored on their opportunities, and Michigan took the 1-0 shootout win.