skip navigation

2021 State Tournament Locations Announced

By Minnesota Hockey, 10/06/20, 1:00PM CDT


Region Tournament Sites Also Released

Minnesota Hockey today announced the host sites for the 2021 Minnesota Hockey State and Region Tournaments. For the eighth consecutive year, The Drive to State is presented by Chevy, and will be highlighted by 14 State Tournaments hosted by nine communities. Region Tournaments will be played February 26 through 28, followed by State Tournaments being played March 12 through 14.

The 14 State Tournaments will be played at the same nine locations throughout Minnesota as the 2020 State Tournaments, which were canceled due to COVID-19. The host sites will be Doug Woog Arena in South St. Paul (Junior Gold A, Junior Gold B, Junior Gold 16), Braemar Arena in Edina (Bantam AA, Bantam A), New Ulm Civic Center in New Ulm (Bantam B, Peewee B), STMA Ice Arena in Albertville (Peewee AA), Moose Sherritt Ice Arena in Monticello (Peewee A), Cullen Hockey Center in Moorhead (15U A), Rochester Recreation Center and Graham Arena in Rochester (15U B, 12U B) and St. Croix Valley Recreation Center in Stillwater (12U A, 19U). The 2021 Minnesota Hockey State Tournament locations are as follows:

Youth Location
Bantam AA Edina
Bantam A Edina
Bantam B New Ulm
Peewee AA Albertville
Peewee A Monticello
Peewee B New Ulm
Girls Location
19U Stillwater
15U A Moorhead
15U B Rochester
12U A Stillwater
12U B Rochester
Junior Gold Location
Junior Gold A South St. Paul
Junior Gold B South St. Paul
Junior Gold 16 South St. Paul

“When we made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 Minnesota Hockey State Tournaments, it not only affected the teams and players that earned the right to play in the state tournaments, but also the tournament host sites,” said Steve Oleheiser, Minnesota Hockey president. “There is a great amount of work in planning to host a state tournament, and our communities take pride in putting on a memorable event for all the participants.  Minnesota Hockey offered a right of first refusal to the 2020 host sites in a sign of gratitude for their preparation, and it speaks to the passion of our communities that all of the hosts have agreed to host the 2021 Minnesota Hockey State Tournaments.”

Minnesota Hockey’s Region Tournaments will feature 35 tournaments at 29 locations across Minnesota this season as teams look to qualify for State. The Metro Hockey League playdowns, which determine Junior Gold State participants, will take place at arenas in Shakopee and Minnetonka. The 15U B Region Tournaments will be added if needed later this season. The Minnesota Hockey Region Tournament locations are as follows:

Level North South East West
Bantam AA Grand Rapids Owatonna Eden Prairie St. Cloud
Bantam A Eveleth-Gilbert/ME Hastings Stillwater St. Louis Park
Bantam B Lake of the Woods Woodbury Stillwater St. Louis Park
Peewee AA Cloquet Owatonna Cottage Grove Anoka
Peewee A Virginia Mankato Anoka Sartell
Peewee B Hallock Worthington District 2 (TBD) District 3 (TBD)
12U A TBD Rosemount Proctor-Hermantown District 3 (TBD)
12U B Bemidji Albert Lea Blaine (Fogerty) Sauk Rapids
Level American National Olympic
15U A Richfield Richfield Bemidji

Most Popular