skip navigation

2020 Scholarship Winners Announced

By Minnesota Hockey, 05/06/20, 10:30AM CDT


Minnesota Hockey today announced nine scholarship and two Disabled Hockey Grant winners. The recipients were recognized for their dedication to excellence both on and off the ice and will each receive a contribution from Minnesota Hockey worth $1,000.

The recipients will be invited to be honored at the Minnesota Hockey Annual Awards Banquet, which is tentatively scheduled for Saturday, June 27.

Congratulations to all of the scholarship winners and we wish you the very best in your future endeavors!

Wes Barrette Scholarship

Sean Baird (EdinA)

The Wes Barrette Scholarship is provided each season by the Metro Hockey League in honor of the legendary Junior Gold coach Wes Barrette. Barrette played a key role in the development of the Junior Gold level and founded the team Wessy’s Boys which has been a fixture in the St. Paul area for over 20 years.

Bruce Kruger Scholarship

Bennett Ashton (Woodbury)

This is presented in honor of Bruce Kruger who was a long time Metro Hockey League and Minnesota Hockey board member and was a major proponent of Junior Gold hockey. 

Minnesota Hockey College Scholarships:

Each year Minnesota Hockey offers scholarship awards to senior student-athletes that are properly registered and participating members of Minnesota Hockey affiliated teams.

Nathan Carlson (Moorhead)
Connor Cieminski (Wayzata)
William DeReuil (Edgcume)
Tommy Hardie (Edina)
Nicky Lutz (Minnetonka)
Zach Wilder (Chaska Chanhassen)


Disabled Hockey Grant

This award was instituted to assist Minnesota Disabled Hockey players in the pursuit educational, personal growth and development opportunities.

Joe Lang – Minnesota Wild Sled Hockey
Zachary Denny – Minnesota Special Hockey 


High School Scholarships

Minnesota Hockey offers one scholarship to a boy and a girl high school hockey player that can be used at any post high school institution and are a one-time award that will not need to be repaid.

Michael Weber (Delano)
Holly eckers (shakopee)

Most Popular