skip navigation

Minnesota Hockey Announces 2020 State Tournament Locations

By Minnesota Hockey, 09/05/19, 2:00PM CDT


Girls 12U A &12U B Classifications Expanded to Four Regions

Minnesota Hockey today announced the host sites for the 2020 Minnesota Hockey State and Region Tournaments. For the seventh consecutive year, The Drive to State is presented by Chevy, and will be highlighted by 14 State Tournaments hosted by nine communities. Region Tournaments will be played February 28 through March 1, followed by State Tournaments being played March 13 through 15.

The 14 State Tournaments will be played at nine locations throughout Minnesota. The host sites will be Doug Woog Arena in South St. Paul (Junior Gold A, Junior Gold B, Junior Gold 16), Braemar Arena in Edina (Bantam AA, Bantam A), New Ulm Civic Center in New Ulm (Bantam B, Peewee B), STMA Ice Arena in Albertville (Peewee AA), Moose Sherritt Ice Arena in Monticello (Peewee A), TBD (19U), Cullen Hockey Center in Moorhead (15U A), Rochester Recreation Center and Graham Arena in Rochester (15U B, 12U B) and St. Croix Valley Recreation Center in Stillwater (19U, 12U A). The 2020 Minnesota Hockey State Tournament locations are as follows:

Youth Location
Bantam AA Edina
Bantam A Edina
Bantam B New Ulm
Peewee AA Albertville
Peewee A Monticello
Peewee B New Ulm
Girls Location
19U Stillwater
15U A Moorhead
15U B Rochester
12U A Stillwater
12U B Rochester
Junior Gold Location
Junior Gold A South St. Paul
Junior Gold B South St. Paul
Junior Gold 16 South St. Paul

Minnesota Hockey’s Region Tournaments will expand to feature 35 tournaments at 29 locations across Minnesota this season as teams look to qualify for State. The Minnesota Hockey Board of Directors voted at its 2019 Summer Board meeting to approve the expansion of the 12U A and 12U B classifications to a four Region format in recognition of the impressive growth of girls’ hockey in the state.  

The Metro Hockey League playdowns, which determine Junior Gold State participants, will take place at the Plymouth Ice Center in Plymouth. The 15U B Region Tournaments will be added if needed later this season. The Minnesota Hockey Region Tournament locations are as follows:

Level North South East West
Bantam AA Duluth St. Louis Park Stillwater Anoka
Bantam A Proctor Marshall Shakopee Alexandria
Bantam B Cloquet La Crescent Shakopee Little Falls
Peewee AA Grand Rapids Faribault Woodbury Buffalo
Peewee A Baudette Albert Lea Stillwater Anoka
Peewee B Moose Lake Luverne Minnetonka Benson
12U A Greenway Faribault Richfield Richfield
12U B Thief River Falls Waseca Fairmont Lakeville
Level American National Olympic
15U A Blaine Blaine Moorhead

Most Popular