skip navigation
Home About Districts/Assoc. Players Parents Coaches/Officials Tourneys News Programs SafeSport High Performance Search

Minnesota goalies and Hobey Baker Award

Hobey Baker Award

Since 1981, the Hobey Baker Memorial award has been given annually to the outstanding collegiate men’s hockey player. The Hobey Baker Award celebrates ability, leadership, and character.

The award is named for Hobey Baker, a two-sport star at Princeton in the early part of the 20th century. While Hobey was a excellent football player, he was the dominant hockey player of his era and captained Princeton to two championships. He was also known for his leadership and sportsmanship.  He was only penalized once during his entire collegiate career and after each game visited the opposing team’s locker room to wish them well. Hobey Baker was enshrined in both U.S. and International Hockey Halls of Fame.

Each year the winner is announced at the NCAA Frozen Four on the Friday between the semifinal and championship games. The top three candidates, referred to as the "Hobey Hat Trick," are invited to the award ceremony with their coaches and families.

Minnesota goalie wins Hobey Baker Award

In 1988, Robb Stauber of Duluth became the first Minnesota goalie to win the Hobey Baker Award. He played for the University of Minnesota.

Stauber's Career Highlights
1988 WCHA Player of the Year … helped the Golden Gophers to WCHA regular season titles in 1988 and 1989, as well as a NCAA runner-up finish in 1989 … received Minnesota’s John Mariucci Most Valuable Player Award in 1988 … set Golden Gopher single season records for games played (44), minutes played (2,621), saves (1,711) and shutouts (5) in 1987-88 … holds Golden Gopher career records for games played (98), minutes played (5,717), wins (73) and save percentage (.906) … named All-WCHA first team and All-America first team in 1988 … named WCHA Goaltender of the Year in 1988 and 1989 … retired from professional hockey in 1998 after a ten-year pro career including stints in four seasons in the NHL with the LA Kings and Buffalo.

Minnesota goalies named Top 10 finalist for Hobey Baker Award

Year First name Last name Hometown College
2015 Zane McIntyre Thief River Falls University of North Dakota
2014 Adam WIlcox South St. Paul Minnesota
2013 Eric Hartzell White Bear Lake Quinnipiac University
2007 John Curry Shorewood Boston University
1989 Robb Stauber Duluth Minnesota
1988 Robb Stauber* Duluth Minnesota
1984 Jon Casey Grand Rapids North Dakota
1981 Steve Carroll Edina MInnesota State University, Mankato
*indicates winner of award